Current trainees

This section will provide advice and guidance to current foundation trainees within the Wales Foundation School. There are details about policies and procedures and information on where to go for additional support throughout your training. In addition there’s information on additional opportunities available within Wales.

All Foundation Doctors in Wales will be allocated an educational supervisor for each 4-month placement within the rotation, for the full two years of their Foundation Programme, to maintain an overview of development and progress of the doctor within the training programme.  Click here to download 'A guide for Foundation Doctors commencing August 2016'.

A clinical supervisor will be allocated for each 4-month placement within the rotation and they are responsible for overseeing a specified foundation doctor’s clinical work and providing constructive feedback during a training placement.

There are 15 Foundation Programme Directors based across Wales, their responsibility is to ensure that a quality programme is being delivered and that each trainee doctor is adequately supervised throughout their training. The Foundation Programme Directors are also responsible for assessing each Foundation Doctor at the end of their F1 and F2 years and to provide additional support to those trainees who require it.

Foundation Programme Director

Location (Hospital/City/Health board)

Mr Barry Appleton

Princess of Wales Hospital, Bridgend,  ABMU East

Mr David Drake

Morriston Hospital, Swansea, ABMU (West)

Dr Bilal Al-Sarireh

Singleton/Morriston Hospital, Swansea ABMU West

Dr Francis Subash

Royal Gwent, Newport, Aneurin Bevan

Dr Stuart Linton

Nevil Hall, Abergavenny, Aneurin Bevan

Dr Christopher Lloyd

Glan Clwd Hospital, Rhyl, Betsi Cadwaladr Central

Mr Hemant Maraj

Wrexham Maelor Hospital, Wrexham. Betsi Cadwaladr East

Dr Alison Ingham

Ysbyty Gwynedd, Bangor, Betsi Cadwaladr West

Dr John Dunne

University Hospital of Wales, Cardiff, Cardiff and Vale

Dr Susan Allen

University Hospital of Wales, Cardiff, Cardiff and Vale

Dr Philip Evans

Royal Glamorgan Hospital, Pontyclun ,Cwm Taf South

To be appointed

Prince Charles Hospital, Merthyr Tydfil, Cwm Taf North

Mr Ngiaw Saw

Prince Philip Hospital, Llanelli, Hywel Dda Carmarthenshire

Dr Masarat Syed

Bronglais General, Aberystwyth, Hywel Dda Ceredigion

Mr Jeggy Mathias

Withybush General, Haverfordwest, Hywel Dda Pembrokeshire

Back to top